Posted by: forgingahead | July 30, 2008

China Beach Birthday Swim

I’m off to ride Now Voyager momentarily (it’s my birthday and I get to do whatever I want) but I just had to share a couple of pics from this morning’s training swim. Bert and I launched from China Beach on the Northwestern tip of San Francisco. A foggy morning, but quiet and still fog – not gale force winds fog.

The water was teaming with dolphins and seals. I would love to be that elegant in the water – the way they just glide along. Unfortunately none came to swim directly with us. Swim coach Morgan Filler made sure we didn’t get swept out to sea. She plotted our course before we went in the water and kept a sharp eye on us the whole time.

We had a great time…can’t you tell. Funny story, as we were pulling off our wetsuits Morgan tells us there was a great white shark sighting a couple of weeks ago. “Oh don’t worry, it was over by Ocean Beach,” she says with a grin. Gulp. What’s a mile or two to a shark? Better that I didn’t know.


Responses

  1. What an amazing experience that must have been to see the dolphins and seals! Happy Birthday!
    PS we met at blogher

  2. Hi Mary! Thanks for visiting my virtual world 🙂 This day has definitely been one for my personal record book. Triathlon training has led me try things I NEVER imagined I’d agree to do! Have a great week…

  3. Oh. My. Gosh. You guys are awesome. I am in awe. Brave… so brave…. I don’t think I could do it Kathleen! You rock.

  4. Ah, you’ve learned by now to never say never. I bet at one point you NEVER thought you’d be a triathlete. And look at you now! You athlete! Good luck in your Olympic length event this weekend!! (is my enthusiasm coming through with all those exclamation marks?)

  5. […] Birthday To Me One year ago I celebrated my birthday by swimming the ocean, eating princess cake for breakfast and riding my horse. Good […]

  6. happy birthday


Leave a comment

Categories