Posted by: forgingahead | April 27, 2015

Baby Steps

After 3 months in the boot the people who are well paid to make such decisions told me to try walking without it. Even though the stress fracture was still – well – fractured.

They couldn’t really articulate why this was a good idea except to say I had been in the boot long enough.

I double checked with a family friend who is also a PT for a sports medicine clinic. Since he also thought it was ok as long as there’s no pain I went for it.

The timing was fortuitous as I was heading into 3 consecutive weeks of travel.

I’m home now and spent the weekend going on short slow walks with Bert. This morning we walked to Bart. It’s been a long time since we were able to make that trek together.

Pain is mostly gone. I get intermittent twinges that convince there is still healing going on. An X-ray this week should tell me more.

In the meantime, I’ve become mindful of every step.

2015/04/img_1719.jpg

2015/04/img_1695.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

