Posted by: forgingahead | August 1, 2008

Triathlon Countdown 3 Weeks!

When the sun comes up tomorrow morning it will be exactly 3 weeks to the Santa Barbara Triathlon. Gulp.

My new friend jennyonthespot is doing her first Olympic length triathlon this weekend so I’m hoping to gain some courage from her experience. Check out her blog…I guarantee she’ll make you laugh.

Training is going well, on the whole. My strongest sport of the three is swimming and my biggest challenge there was overcoming fear of the open water. I think my China Beach Swim post shows I’m in pretty good shape there.

Nothing to do on the swim front but head into the surf with 900 people, which I hear has a myriad of its own challenges. My super swim coach Morgan Filler gets uncharacteristically serious when she says, “you will get kicked in the head and heavily jostled. And some people might just swim OVER you. Just be prepared.”

Ok then. This is one of those things that I just need to experience to get used to. Or does one ever really get used to the feeling of being under attack in the water? I kind of doubt that.

So then cycling. I hadn’t been on a bike in eons but I’m feeling pretty comfortable these days. And Bert and Mom just bought me a fancy Trek for my birthday. So even though there are a few monster hills (monster in my book anyway) I have plans to finish the cycling portion. Even if takes me 3 hours to ride the 34 miles.

Which brings us to running. My weakest sport. I’ve only been running for maybe 4 months and my longest distance so far is 5 miles which I did for the first time last week. So yes, I plan to run, jog, shuffle, walk (do they allow crawling?) my way to the finish line.

I stick by my original goals. Finish uninjured. And it’s the uninjured part that’s dear to my heart. So I’ll switch them around. Healthy Finish.

Responses

  1. All the best to you as you take on this Triathlon! Sounds like you’re well prepared but the first one comes with some “butterflies”. The feeling you get when you finish is unlike anything else! GO FOR IT!

    Best to you and happy training for the next few weeks….

    kate

  2. WEll, I finally go my jitters tonight. I’m packing up my transition bag… I just realized this is a coed tri… My tummy is al jostly!!! I gotta tell ya, your confidence in me sure does help me feel like I am not as far over my head as I start feeling! Thanks for your optimism..

    And a new bike for your birthday – AWESOME!!! Are you gonna post any pictures???

  3. Don’t forget to have fun! I know, that’s easy for me to say sitting on the sidelines… 😉

  4. […] Triathlon Countdown 3 Weeks!When the sun comes up tomorrow morning it will be exactly 3 weeks to the Santa Barbara Triathlon. Gulp. My new friend jennyonthespot is doing her first Olympic length triathlon this weekend so I’m hoping to gain some courage from her … […]

  5. Have fun; stay safe and feel the joy! I am very proud of you.

    Love you!

    Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

