Posted by: forgingahead | April 11, 2012

Texans are Nice

I flew to Dallas this morning and seated in my row was a genuine cowboy. Big guy with a handlebar mustache and a baseball cap that said something about a Houston Rodeo.

When we landed he pulled down my bag from the overhead bin. No one does that on flights. I passed him later in the terminal as he was greeting his son. I’m guessing the son part but by the big bear hug I’m pretty sure I’m right. Made me smile.

The cab driver was nice. From Jamaica with that lovely sing song voice.

The front desk woman at the W was very sweet. As was the concierge who wanted to make sure I didn’t go for a run on the trail after dark. Even the bartender who make me a very fine latte was sweet.

Then we went to a place that you all simply must visit when you are next in Dallas (or Ft. Worth). Tillman’s Roadhouse in the Bishop Arts neighborhood.

First off, who knew that Dallas had a neighborhood that is the virtual twin of the Rockridge district of Oakland/Berkeley? Adorable.

The decor was funky cool. I love the juxtaposition of the carved wooden heads with the sparkly chandeliers.

The menu is fancy comfort food. The ribs and mac and cheese were delish.

And the finale…s’mores. Homemade marshmallows, graham crackers and rich chocolate. We had fun toasting the marshmallows!

It’s been a good day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

