Posted by: forgingahead | February 21, 2012

The Long Flat Road

Good news on the foot front! After a week off I ran pretty much pain free.

My plan on Sunday was to run part of the Alcatraz course. I’m toying with the idea of doing that race again 🙂

The brilliant training plan I’ve concocted is to train using the actual course. Smart, right?

I figure living actually in the city means I can swim, bike and run to my hearts content through the waves, hills and beaches of SF.

Since I’m starting a bit from scratch I parked at the Warming Hut and ran up the first set of stairs, along the ridge, through the Alice in Wonderland tunnel and smack into a fence.

Turns out there is quite a bit of heavy duty landscaping going on that has derailed the usual course. Supposed to be done in March but I have my doubts.

I persevered but all the detours were annoying so I eventually turned around.

Getting back to Crissy Field I felt more mileage was needed so I ran on the flat for a while.

I’ve decided flat straight paths are my personal challenge. Maybe it’s growing up in SF but I’m happiest with ups, downs and twisty turns.

Anyone have tips for mentally overcoming the boredom of flat roads?

Responses

  1. If your road’s going to be flat, make sure it’s pretty with lots of interesting things to see. I think that’s why I like the Embarcadero so much.

  2. Ipod? That was my secret weapon during my last race!
    Missed you and NV!
    meg


Leave a Reply

Categories

