Posted by: forgingahead | February 7, 2012

Truly unplugged

We just spent a few days in Big Sur and the lack of cell coverage coupled with no TV, phone or wifi at our place meant I was completely unplugged.

It felt weird at first. I had a little anxiety about work, about Zinger and Now Voyager, about life.

And then, a funny thing happened. I read a book, uninterrupted. I read a lot in my regular life but my iPhone is usually nearby and if it makes one of those cute little sounds I check it out. This time, no sounds. And it was nice.

I think all that fresh air and lack of electronic stimuli led to a better night sleep too. I slept a lot and had lovely happy dreams.

So now I need to incorporate some of those practices into my real life. I can turn off devices and I’ll start by turning this one off…just as soon as I finish this post 🙂

Responses

  1. This sounds like my kind of retreat. I keep thinking about how cyborg we’re becoming. So many people can’t function without their smartphones in hand at all times. It’s kinda sad and creepy. I wish you well creating more “white space” in your daily life.


Leave a Reply

Categories

