Posted by: forgingahead | January 26, 2012

Happy Belated New Year

I blame my iPhone for lack of blogging. Ironic, I know.

I welcomed 2012 from the idyllic shores of Maui. It was heaven and I think I’m meant to live there at least part time. Now, the trick is figuring out how to make that work. I’ll get back to you.

Highlights were our day trip on the road to Hana where we visited this lovely red sand beach…

And sunrise at Haleakala. Thanks to my super mom who drove Bert and I up there with our rented bikes and then picked us up in Paia at the bottom. 10,000 of downhill cycling is all kinds of fun and the views were tremendous…

Last weekend I spent in snow encrusted Seattle. And got sick. Not necessarily the fault of the weather but I find the timing suspicious.

In between the sun and snow was work and life and working hard to maintain a work life balance that I had misplaced last year.

So far so good. Though I’m sick right now so my judgement might be a little wobbly.

Zinger says hi…he has a new cat sitter so is (barely) tolerating our gallivanting around the globe.

Now Voyager is just a beautiful as ever. Speaking of horses, highly recommend Buck, a documentary about an amazing horse trainer. Not just for horse people.

Responses

  1. If you’re looking for a roommate on Maui, I can be all packed up and ready to go tomorrow. Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Buck IS a great film. My kids ended up seeing it with me (sons ages 9 & 11) and they were both rapt too which surprised me. It’s one of those moves that leaves a lasting impression – especially the one horse that I won’t describe for fear of creating a spoiler!!

  3. I’m with you on the work/life balance. I think Maui is the secret. Sometimes completely getting away from it all is the ticket!

  4. Sounds like your year was off to a good start, until it hit Seattle.


Leave a Reply

Categories

