Posted by: forgingahead | November 23, 2011

Running in the Redwoods

A couple of months ago when warm Summer days were still upon us I was itching to run in the shade of wooded trail.

Since I was headed to barn in Half Moon Bay I packed my running gear and planned to go exploring after riding Now Voyager.

I have a little tip. Always ask your friends for suggestions. Don’t assume you know who will know what because people surprise you. People are cool that way.

At the barn I asked Ruth if she knew of any wooded trails that would be good for a run. Her suggestion took my breath away.

I love running on a trail where I can look up any time and see this…

And when I’m looking ahead I see this…

The Purisima Creek Redwoods Open Space Preserve is located on the western slopes of the Santa Cruz Mountains overlooking Half Moon Bay. 24 miles of trails right in Now Voyager’s back yard!

Now he’s not really a trail horse so it was up to me to explore. Running this trail has become part of my Sunday schedule. Ride NV. Clean his stall. Run in the redwoods. It feeds my soul.

Responses

  1. You need to sign up for a Pacific Coast Trail Run race, you’ll see plenty more of this. Happy Turkey day!

  2. Heaven!!! this is what this looks like!!! 🙂

  3. That looks like a great place to run!…on my to do list forsure!

  4. You run down and up again? I love that hike, but it’s always a long one and difficult starting at the top! (maybe you’re starting at bottom which is closer to the ocean side?)


Leave a Reply

Categories

