Posted by: forgingahead | May 31, 2011

Countdown to Alcatraz

Happy to report that I’ve been busy training!

Highlights include a run on the lake shore in Chicago in a thunderstorm. Very impressive lightening and thunder.

Then I was lucky enough to follow Harriet Anderson on the Alcatraz run route. She shared her advice along the way and I’m happy to report that the scary sand ladder – while scary – is doable.

I biked the route Sunday morning and reconfirmed that it is in fact mostly up and down. Devious bike course.

Then I joined the Water World Swim folks for a final dip in the Bay. We ventured outside the walls of Aquatic Park and must say those were the most serious swells and the biggest chop I’ve experienced yet.

The good news is that the brick didn’t wipe me out as much I thought it would. So maybe I am ready. To finish at least.

Responses

  1. It’s going to be FUN!!

  2. You’re going to do more than finish, you’re going to have a great race. And some fun along the way. I’ll be cheering for you from the water stop on the run course. Go, Kathleen!

  3. Hoping all the best for you in the upcoming Alcatraz venture! Stay strong and warm in that amazing suit. We’ll be rooting for you all the way from Rio Vista!

    Love & Hugs/Pam & Dan

  4. You’re gonna love the energy on that boat ride out to Alcatraz, it’s my favorite part of the day, the good kind of nerves. Hometown races are so so so awesome!

  5. Have a great weekend of racing!! Looking forward to hearing about it.

  6. hey — you got your training in thunderstorms practice down!!

  7. You are a most awesome strong woman!


Leave a Reply

Categories

