Posted by: forgingahead | April 16, 2011

Cycling with Harriet

I went cycling with Harriet Anderson, women’s 75-80 Ironman World Champion, last weekend and got dropped on every hill.

She’s my hero.

Here’s an excerpt from her latest article on the Athleta Chi blog:

I had expected to do one Kona Ironman, but I fell in love with the race and I have returned nineteen times since 1989. I feel so lucky to have placed in the top five of my age divisions in every race in Kona. Since 2000, I have won my age division ten times. I have never set an age group record, but I will keep trying. I will return for my 20th Kona Ironman race on October 8th, 2011.

She’s my mentor, my inspiration, my friend.

Responses

  1. Wow – she is inspiring!!! As are you! When is Alcatraz?

    Miss you!

    Allison

  2. That is awesome. Well, not so much the dropping part, but the rest of it. I want to be like Harriett when I grow up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

