Posted by: forgingahead | March 4, 2011

Catching Up

Every day I think of something to share and then life and work take over and the thought is lost.

Here it is Friday again – another week come and gone. The good news is that crazy cold weather seems to have gone away. Now it’s our normal amount of cold.

I can’t believe what a damper truly cold days are to training.

The big news is that I finally went for a run the other night. There I was at 9pm literally looking for reasons not to go when I decided to check the calendar.

It had been FOUR WEEKS since my last run. Seriously?

So out the door I went. Just 2 miles. I’ve promised myself to start slow and build back up carefully this time. Cannot believe how sore my quads are now. Ah fitness. Such a fleeting state.

I also ran for 15 minutes after my spin class last night. I haven’t been very good about brick training in the past so that’s something to focus on this year.

Speaking of bricks, when I swam in the Bay last weekend that was a backwards brick. Bert and I had done an intense bike ride that morning and as soon as we got home I jumped in the car to go swim.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that my swim fitness was still respectable after the bike ride.

For those of you wondering about Now Voyager – he’s doing really well! We’ve been enjoying some lovely rides both in the arena and on the adventurous trails where exciting things like emus and barking dogs await us and keep things interesting.

I’m so thankful the daylight hours are starting to lengthen! Spring is right around the corner.

Here’s a photo of Mr. NV during the warm days of Summer…

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Responses

  1. You saw an emu? How cool! Hope you’re doing well.

  2. During my workouts I can only meet dogs….
    If you go to run at 09.00 p.m. it means that you really love running.
    Beautiful picture.

  3. Did you say you were running at 9 p.m.? Gosh, that’s my bedtime!! Are you out there in the hills with Dean K.?

  4. You look so happy on your horse 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

