Posted by: forgingahead | February 3, 2011

Cold and Dark

I get to the barn quite early on the mornings I ride Now Voyager before work. It sounds like a slog to most people but I find the early morning drive down the dark coast highway peaceful and a good time to catch up with myself.

It is still pitch black at 6am when I arrive which makes for a good test of my senses. I try not to trip over the barn cats who are clamoring for food and make my way quickly to the grain barrel to get NV his morning snack. All athletes need a little fuel before their workout!

Being a totally spoiled Californian I am now going to whine about the 34 degree temperature that greeted my ride this morning. I think it was even colder with the wind chill factor.

However, there’s really nothing that can spoil a ride on my beautiful horse (except of course if he’s lame – which he’s not, thank goodness). So the story has a happy ending. Both NV and I warmed up slowly and enjoyed a lovely ride.

I volunteered at Glide Memorial the other day serving food to the homeless and the woman who gave us the pep talk before we started work talked about drugs. And not judging those we were going to serve, many struggling with drug addiction.

She said something that resonated with me. “We all self-medicate with some sort of drug.” My drug of choice is my horse. And triathlon.

Responses

  1. Wonderful musings. You are amazing. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Great drugs of choice.
    Always admiring….

    kate

  3. That last quote is so true. So awesome that you make the time to volunteer at Glide, I need to get my act together and get back to volunteering.


Leave a Reply

Categories

