Posted by: forgingahead | December 30, 2010

Adventures in Healdsburg

We spent a rainy day in Healdsburg recently. An adorable Sonoma County treasure surrounding a green town square.

My two favorite spots, however, are both about half a block off the square. Arboretum Apparel and Flying Goat Coffee.

Arboretum Apparel is a gem of a clothing store. Beautiful clothing made of natural fibers. I don’t know how to do it justice except to say that I was drawn to just about every piece in the store. Soft materials. Warm colors. Stylish shapes.

While being entranced by the clothing I started chatting with Andrea Barrett, one of the co-owners of this little slice of fashion heaven. Andrea is as charming as her store. We fell into easy conversation and the more we talked the more I loved the connection between a woman who is doing her part to positively impact the earth and the beautiful clothes she discovers and shares.

Let me borrow some language from the Arboretum website (likely written by Andrea’s talented writer husband).

Arboretum weds the politics and practicality of mindful manufacturing with the edge and allure of high fashion. Our goal is to provide clothes that make a big impression while leaving a small footprint.

If you find your way to Healdsburg I highly recommend you treat yourself to a visit to Arboretum Apparel where you are bound to find a treasure that will enhance your closet. They’re located at 332 Healdsburg Avenue, Healdsburg CA, 95448 Phone: 707-433-7033

For a coffee-infused pick me up stop by Flying Goat Coffee. There’s one in Santa Rosa too if you happen to be there. Here’s a photo of the SR one which is down by the train tracks. Lots of cyclists hanging around this one. Always a good sign.

If you’re craving a treat their mocha is divine and I highly recommend the whipped cream. It’s real.

Having fun in Sonoma County!

Responses

  1. Any other memories come back from being in Healdsburg?

  2. I am definitely checking out both places next time we visit my daughter in Sonoma County. I love the store’s mission. And who doesn’t want to sip in a coffeehouse frequented by cyclists?!

  3. Both places sound wonderful; wish I could check them out! Have another mocha, for me!
    Happy New Year, Kathleen!

  4. I am now convinced I NEED to go here!!!! Happy new year – here is to a great 2011.


Leave a Reply

Categories

