Posted by: forgingahead | November 14, 2010

2011 Triathlon Plan

I’ve been mulling over what I enjoyed and what needs improvement from my 2010 triathlon season.

I loved having a pre-planned schedule. And racing fairly often – once a month or so. That was fun.

I enjoyed having a big goal that I trained toward for 6 months.

However, I did not so much enjoy the stress that came with that one big goal. Or the injury that came with my half-ironman. Nor the empty feeling the rest of the year had with no triathlon on the calendar.

Taking into account my crazy work travel schedule, and my propensity to get injured in a race longer than Olympic, I’ve formed a new plan for 2011.

Race short and race often. All year.

So now I’m shopping around for race organizers that I’ve enjoyed and race courses that are fun. Sprints and Olympics are my thing.

Open to suggestions from you Bay Area folks because I’m going to be traveling enough with my job, I can’t do it for triathlon too.

What are you favorite Northern California races?

Responses

  1. It sounds like you have a nice plan, I hope you find some fun races 🙂 !

  2. Hmmm, there are so many options I don’t know where to start. I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  3. Sounds like a good plan. I will be on the lookout for some races here. Don’t know if there is much in the winter time, but let’s find out!

  4. I like the Morgan Hill Triathlon and any of the USA Productions events. They always give out great prizes and they raffle things off like wetsuits, bikes, and all sorts of gear. And you need to do your hometown race, Escape from Alcatraz, that is a great race!

  5. I just love chips…more than sugar. You too?

  6. Wildflower is a really fun weekend if you like to camp – they have an Olympic and Sprint race as well 🙂 Your plan for short sounds perfect!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

