Posted by: forgingahead | October 15, 2010

Pumpkins and Horses

I’m being minimalist these days. By necessity more than choice.

Fewer words.

I was able to honor my promise to myself to do yoga last night. And I shall do so again this evening.

Now Voyager was the lucky recipient of a visit from his crazed mom two days in a row. A little less crazed for having spent time with my beautiful boy.

At the barn yesterday morning I saw a beautiful sight. A buck went running by in the field next to the arena. The biggest most graceful trot. And draped across its lovely horns were vines from the pumpkin patch. Wonder what he’d been snacking on?

This morning Now Voyager treated me to the loveliest trot – canter – trot transitions. You horsey people will understand the joy of a balanced and light transition. The non-horsey folks will have to trust me. It’s like a linebacker dancing on his toes. The strength and balance that it takes to do it gracefully is awesome. Now Voyager gifted me with a moment of that today.

This weekend is the pumpkin festival in Half Moon Bay. We used to go when we were kids and it was magical. I’m happy it’s successful because it brings in serious coin for the small town. But forgive me if I whine just a bit that the throngs get in the way of me going to the barn.

The bakery in town that I stopped at this morning had its display cases packed with cookies and pastries in the shape of pumpkins, ghosts and bats. Hand-blown glass pumpkins for sale covered the counter tops. If you love pumpkins you’ve come to the right place!

Responses

  1. Welcome back! So nice to read about your daily activities, thoughts and loves.

  2. Don’t you just love when the planets align and you get those perfect rides….all is right with the world when you are in that kind of harmony with your horse. Perfect day!

  3. I love fall! I hope you have a great time with NV and some yoga! Sounds perfect.

  4. I have such a visual of that pumpkin patch thief making a hasty getaway.

  5. Good bumping into you and Bert yesterday during the ride. Too funny, the Universe must have responded to your message on my blog.

  6. Pumpkins and horses, my few of my favorite things. I loved the vision of the vines hanging off of the buck’s horns. So neat!

  7. I love the concept of the HMB festival, but I find the crowds too overwhelming. I will go when there isn’t a reason to go, just to wander and take my time. I have yet to experience the smooth transition that you did, looking forward to that one day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

