Posted by: forgingahead | August 8, 2010

A Little Bit Lost

This is normal, right? This lost feeling after finishing a big race – the objective of 6 months of training gone in a puff leaving one feeling not quite anchored?

My advisers advised that I take last week off to recover from Barb’s Race. So I did. Being sick helped me stick to that plan. And niggling concern that my left knee hasn’t quite recovered from the race helped me lay off the training too.

I know that not training, not seeing my horse, being under the weather, living in a fog-encased city and not having another race goal are all ganging up on my psyche. To top it off it’s *that* time of the month. Well, supposed to be anyway.

So here’s my plan for this week. I do better when I have a plan. Mind if I share?

1. See Now Voyager Monday, Weds and Friday. Yes, I will get up at 5am to see my horse because he will help my head and heart. I will remember this when the alarm goes off tomorrow.

2. Go to 2 spin classes and 2 yoga classes at the YMCA. Spin to get my cardio back up and yoga to help my body really recover from the race. I miss yoga.

3. Run at least once to see how the knee is really feeling. I could do that tonight but I think a good night’s sleep will ensure the head cold truly leaves town.

I have a theory if I do all of this I won’t notice the fog as much. We got a brilliant dose of sunshine today visiting the Delta. It’s not Italy but it still did the trick.

Thanks for listening!

Responses

  1. We have been having an especially cool and overcast summer here as well! Hope you are feeling good!

  2. HORSE time is definitely in order…I’ve been feeling that(for you!)…enjoy!!
    Hope you’re feeling better and take care of your knee niggle!

  3. That sounds like a good plan, and I hope it makes you feel better. I’m sending sunny thoughts your way.

  4. Having a let down after any kind of performance is totally normal and probably good for you….focus, focus, focus,and then the adrenaline and the actual physical expenditure of energy….suddenly, it’d not there anymore…definitely makes a void, but that doesn’t mean that it’s a bad thing! The body and mind do need that space to regroup. Just imagine what kind of scrambled brains you’d have right now, if you didn’t have the void to work with! LOL!

    Horse time is certainly fabulous therapy for this!!! And your whole plan looks excellent to me!

  5. Post race blues are pretty normal. Sounds like a good plan to get you into the swing of things.

  6. Sounds so much like me after Guatemala. You are back on track already just having a plan!


Leave a Reply

Categories

