Posted by: forgingahead | August 3, 2010

The Aftermath

Kiet warned me that I might get sick. Something about the stress of doing an endurance event lowering my immune systems resistance.

Kiet, are you psychic? Because I am, in fact, sitting here blowing my nose endlessly and what started out this morning as a scratchy feeling in my throat is getting angrier by the moment.

Shucks.

The good news is my left knee continues to feel better! I barely noticed any pain today which is a big improvement over yesterday. A week of rest should be just the ticket to a fully recovered body.

Fingers crossed.

Do you guys sometimes feel like the race was strange dream sequence? I have this odd feeling of being so separate from what happened on Saturday. Or am I *special* in this regard?

My goal this week is to see Now Voyager several times! I miss my horse. He too is recovering from a bit of tendon soreness so the downtime has been good for him. And I gave him a bath on Monday. He’s not really a fan of bathes but he tolerates a lot of things I do because he loves me.

Responses

  1. Hope you feel better. Find some L-glutamine or it might just be labeled Glutamine. it stimulates the immune system. Might have to look at a health food store or vitamin shop type place.

    Have fun with New Voyager. It’s always nice to have something else to do when recovering from a race.

  2. the stress on the body does take it’s toll, my trail marathon was followed up by a nasty bladder infection. i’m guessing the dreamlike state your in could have something to do with the fact that
    YOU JUST COMPLETED A HALF-FREAKING IRONMAN! float and gloat, lady you earned it, oh and get a massage and ben and jerry’s is nice too:)

  3. ohhh that is a bummer! hope you feel better soon.

  4. I’m glad NV can’t catch your cold. Feel better soon!

  5. Kathleen, go buy some Vitamin D, it’s the new miracle vitamin for me. I felt something come on and took about 8000 IU, anything under 10,000 is safe. I did a blog on Vitamin D and am attaching the link. See you Friday and text or call me if you don’t feel up for it and we can reschedule!

    http://racingawareness.blogspot.com/2010/05/day-105-vitamin-d.html

  6. Feel better! Enjoy some down with NV and you will be like-new soon 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

