Posted by: forgingahead | July 29, 2010

Nearly There

The race is the day after tomorrow. Gulp.

I treated myself to this snazzy new Twin Six jersey for the bike leg:

This purchase was the result of a long conversation I had with Bert about my race fears. Predominately staying warm when it’s cold out and cool when it gets hot.

Yes, it’s true. I’m not super worried about the distance. And because my goal is to simply complete Barb’s Race in one piece (not hurt) I’m not even worried about my time. Well except I’d like to finish under 8 hours.

In my dreams I get close to what my friend Harriet Anderson did a couple of weeks ago at the Vineman 70.3 to win her age group Women 75-79. She finished in 7:19. A girl’s gotta have goals and that’s mine.

My wave doesn’t start until 8:30 so that puts me crossing the finish line around 4pm. For those of you curious about my glacial pace the race organizers thoughtfully have arranged for live athlete tracking. If I get my act together I’ll post my race number when I get it.

So back to the obsessing. I was going to ride my bike in a long-sleeved white shirt. It’s what I wore when I did the test ride a couple weeks ago. But I really want arm warmers for the first hour. And I feel naked without back pockets on my bike to hold whatever needs holding. And my present jerseys are all black which is not so good for a hot day.

Hence the new baby blue jersey. Solves all those concerns and looks pretty too.

I got a GREAT night sleep last night for those of you who were worrying on my behalf after the corn syrup debacle. Looking for more rest tonight – then fun at the race expo tomorrow on my BIRTHDAY!

Responses

  1. Happy Birthday, you DID deserve a special treat, didn’t you!?
    Thanks for posting Harriet’s stats, I didn’t even know she did Vineman. Very cool.
    I love that new jersey, especially the colors, it will carry you through to the end and you’ll finish with a big smile. HAVE FUN!
    Oh, please try to post your number and we can follow you.
    Corn syrup? I guess I better go read you last post.

  2. Yay! You’re gonna have so much fun! Kick butt and don’t forget to smile when you cross the finish line (and other times too!)

  3. Whoa awesome looking jersey, now it will be very easy to spot you! And even better, my goal now is to finish under 10 hours so that I’ll be right behind you. So when you finish, chill out a bit and I’ll try to keep you from waiting too long.

    • Totally! Your swim start is 2 hours before mine so we’ll be crossing the finish together!

  4. Happy birthday, Kathleen! Good luck on Saturday and have fun!

  5. Cute jersey! You’re going to do just fine.

  6. Have a GREAT race!


Leave a Reply

Categories

