Posted by: forgingahead | July 21, 2010

Seeking Taper Advice

As I wrote the title of this blog post I had a flashback to “Desperately Seeking Susan” which is going to date me but that’s ok. I am turning 45 next Friday after all. No escaping that fun fact.

Anywho, I need taper advice. Kiet, you say you’re in full taper mode. Please describe. Inquiring minds need to know.

By the way, Kiet is doing the FULL Ironman on the same day/course that I do my half. He’s a rockstar who just won a trail marathon. Go Kiet!

I don’t have a coach and I’ve been (loosely) following Matt Lieto’s half-ironman training program I found at the trifuel.com website.

This plan still has me cycling Tues/Thurs/Sat and running and swimming Weds/Fri/Sun just for less time.

Is that a good plan? Seems a bit much.

Since I’m feeling a little under the weather I haven’t done a thing for 3 days and am contemplating getting in the pool sometime today and maybe doing a short run. Maybe.

Would love to hear everyone’s thoughts!

In the meantime, I’m going to go do some more of this…

Responses

  1. I say if you’re loosely following a plan, stick with it. and taper is still working out and doing intensity, just less of it. You gotta keep the legs fresh and remembering what they are supposed to do, just let them recover faster, so you do less.

    • Thanks Maggs – that’s what I needed to know.

  2. Sleeping is good for recovering from feeling icky. Also you will have some aches and pains in this time period and you will NEED to sleep more. For me I know a well executed taper is when a few days before the race I am SUPER NAP GIRL. On my way up to vineman last year I slept 3+ hours in the car…i typically don’t sleep in moving cars.

    Keep the intensity but shorten the volume. The taper they have sounds good. if you dont’ keep the intensity your legs will feel like lead going into the race.

    Get a massage now if you can. That also helps keep you lose.

    And if you go a little nutty…that is pretty normal. My friends and i would joke about taper madness. I tend to shop when i’m tapering…a little dangerous.

  3. I’d say at this point less is always better, but it’s usually nice to keep your legs moving a bit. And add in a little speed just to keep them lively 🙂 You will do awesome!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

