Posted by: forgingahead | July 16, 2010

Katy Trail in Dallas

I headed out for my run yesterday morning planning to do a loop on street surfaces similar to one I did last time in Dallas.

My run last time was at night and I was thankful for the streetlights.

My run at daybreak this time allowed me to look around. The morning commute was just getting underway so I wasn’t able to really run in the street.

Tired of getting pushed off the road by cars I turned down a quiet tree-lined street.

At this point in my run I had not seen one single solitary other runner. “Um, I guess folks in Dallas aren’t big into running,” I mused.

Then I saw a path suspended in the air up ahead. With runners, cyclists and rollerbladers flying by!

I’d happily stumbled upon the Katy Trail.

In 1997, a coalition of community members and city leaders banded together to preserve the greenbelt along which the former Missouri-Kansas-Texas (MKT or “Katy”) Railroad traveled through Dallas. They envisioned an urban park featuring a pedestrian and bicycle path set among 30 acres of nature in the densest part of the city.

The result is a 3.5 mile oasis for people wanting to move their bodies away from cars and in the shade of trees. Heaven.

I had so much fun I did it again this morning.

Responses

  1. Hooray for rails-to-trails projects! Glad you were able to get off the road before the cars got angry.

  2. It looks gorgeous – I went to their website. When I visit my relatives in CT, running their local rail trail is always one of the highlights of my trip – it follows an old canal, so I guess it’s a rail/canal trail.

    They recently completed a new rail trail here in the Houston Heights, but I don’t see a lot of people on it yet and I haven’t been able to get any good safety info so I’m still waiting to give it a try.

  3. It’s such a joy to find trails like that, especially in unfamiliar cities. Of course, I did that once in San Jose and came upon some crooks…but it also was dark and I should have known better. Anyway, so glad to hear you found some happy trails.

  4. Isn’t that great! We have a fairly extensive area of greenways around here that I love.

  5. So beautiful! Kathleen found the Katy Trail–how cool is that???

  6. This is awesome – I love it!

  7. !!! There you were, while I was on my yearly pilgrimage to NM!!! Damn!


Leave a Reply

Categories

