Posted by: forgingahead | July 13, 2010

A Big Weekend

Saturday I did a 4:30 bike ride. Solo. This was a good test of both my conditioning and mental fortitude. I’m usually drafting Bert so I was pretty pleased that I was able to push through the ride alone.

I made sure to reward myself a few times along the way. Like stopping at The Bike Hut on Tunitas Creek Road and partaking in a tasty waffle. Yum!

I did a 15 minute run brick after the bike since you guys keep telling me that I have to get my legs used to the transition. Those were some very tired legs.

You won’t be surprised to learn that I only rode Now Voyager for about 20 minutes after all of that. I felt lucky to even be able to stay on him. He was happy for the sugar cubes and carrots and all the grooming.

Sunday I set the alarm again and hit the road for my now “usual” 11 mile run loop through Golden Gate Park. What is it about doing a route the second time that makes it seem so much easier/shorter. I was at my turnaround point before I knew it.

I took my faithful ice bath and then put my feet up to watch the World Cup final. A good day even though the Dutch lost.

Tomorrow I’m off to Dallas (for work) where I predict the heat will defeat me. At least the hotel has a nice gym. Less than 3 weeks to Barb’s Race!

Responses

  1. Woohoo! You’re gonna do great at Barb’s race!

  2. Nice work! You sound perfectly ready for that race. Relax and enjoy the taper!

  3. Way to go this weekend! If you train outside in Dallas, the heat at Barb’s race won’t phase you at all.

  4. Where is Barb’s race? It sounds like you’re pumped and ready! Have fun in Dallas and take an early(very early)run there if you’re going to run. I hear it’s HOT out there right now, enjoy!

  5. This pic of the bike hut is so awesome. Way to splurge on the waffles, I was too cheap. You’re going to rock Barb’s race and better yet, I’ll be out there with you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

