Posted by: forgingahead | June 25, 2010

I get to race again

Yipee, I get to do another triathlon! How lucky am I?

And I get to do it in my very own city. The Golden Gate Triathlon. Which means swimming in the Bay. And cycling up and down some sizable hills. But I’m ready. Yep. Pretty sure I’m ready.

Let’s do a reality check, shall we?

Health
Well, that evil summer cold seems to be lingering a bit longer than I had hoped. But I don’t think it’ll slow me down. And my elbow seems to have recovered from my falling over on the bike a few days ago.

Preparation
Do any of you feel really ready for a race? I’ve decided I’m not likely to ever feel fully prepared. I’m usually wishing for another week or two of prep time. I’m about the same amount of ready as I’ve ever been.

Weather
It’s ironic that this race is prep for Barb’s Race – the 70.3 in Santa Rosa in July. Which is going to be H.O.T. And I’m worried about being cold this Sunday. We’ve been having these miserably cold foggy summer days that are not conducive to going for a swim in the Bay or hopping on a bike in wet tri-shorts.

But the forecast looks kind of hopeful. So I’ll set that worry aside.

Equipment
Bert took the scissors to my wetsuit last night. The neckline was way too high and caused me to feel like I was being strangled during my last swim. I’m planning to hop in the water with this newly aerodynamic neckline and test it out tomorrow. When I’ll still have time to rent an alternative at Sports Basement. Plus the changes make the suit look kind of street.

Team
Clair is going to be a volunteer on the course and I can’t wait to see her smiling face!

Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. You GO!!!
    Swim, Bike, Run!!!

  2. Good luck!

  3. Good luck! And I hope the wetsuit alterations work really well.

  4. I hope it went great!

  5. If you’re doing a triathlon, you are already “street” in my book! The new suit look is just icing on the cake.


Leave a Reply

Categories

