Posted by: forgingahead | June 22, 2010

The New Long

When I first started running 2 years ago I would walk a block, run a block, walk a block.

Over time I worked up to a nice easy 2 mile loop. But the triathlon I was training for – and I use the term training loosely – had a 10 mile run at the end of it.

Subscribing to the “if you can do half, you can do the whole distance” theory I worked up to a 5 mile run. The first time I ran that distance I was over the moon happy.

And then somehow the 5 mile loop became my normal. No big deal.

Once I committed to my 70.3 at the end of July I knew I had to get more comfortable with a 10+ mile run. So I attempted a 10 mile run in Las Vegas and then the half marathon a week later.

It took me a week to recover from the half and then on Saturday (two weeks post-half marathon) I went long again. An 11 mile loop from my house, over the hill (Twin Peaks) and out through Golden Gate Park to the ocean (nearly).

The last time I did this route (10 weeks ago) I walked most of it (ran 3 in the middle) and wound up lame so perhaps there was a little bit of fear. But I also had the confidence of my Vegas and race run to pull from.

I’m happy to report that I did it! Carried my water and drank it. Carried a Lara Bar and ate it. Walked when I needed to but also managed to actually run up some of the final hills.

2:30 for 11 miles (remember those hills!). Ice bath at the end staved off the dreaded quadriceps pain. This run is my new long.

Responses

  1. Blows me away. I would love to start running again but am held back by negative self talk. You are a huge inspiration, especially when you say that you ran a block and walked a block in the beginning. That would be me.

    Amazing and congrats!

  2. Awesome job!! You are coming a long and getting stronger. I just did my first run in MONTHS…a mere 2 miles, but it felt good to be out and my legs aren’t protesting too much at the moment. You definitely are on your way to your 70.3! Are you bricking your long rides?

    • Not really – thanks for the gentle reminder. I gotta get on that!

  3. super super….i remember the first time I ran 8 miles….unfortunately it was my last LOL….but I’m getting some 2 milers in lately and hope to kick up to one five miler a week….I’m adjusting to hills after a winter of flat, flat, flat in FL…

  4. Awesome job on the long run! They get easier. And so do the ice baths!

  5. WAY to go that is awesome 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

