Posted by: forgingahead | June 1, 2010

3 Days to Champagne & Chocolate

Saturday is the day I tackle my first ever half-marathon. And there will be champagne and chocolate waiting for me at the finish line. Fitting way to celebrate, no?

I’m feeling fairly confident after shuffling my way through that 10 mile run in Vegas last week. A friend asked me how long I expect the 13.1 miles to take. It would be sweet to finish in 2:30 but I fear a plus 3 hour is more realistic. I cringe as I write that because so many of you guys are super speedy runners. But I am what I am – a slowpoke.

The course looks pretty – we basically run around the island of Alameda. A town I’m sad to say I’ve never been to which is kind of silly since it’s right across the water. So I’ll be exploring new territory as I tackle new running distances.

And it’s F.L.A.T. which is an extra bonus for this girl who usually winds up spending at least 30 percent of her runs going up or down hills. I kind of feel like I can go forever on a flat course.

I’m psyched too that Clair is doing the race too. She’s the one who told me about it. Doing a race with a friend makes it twice as fun!

So nice weather, good friends, chocolate and champagne in store I think Saturday is going to be pretty fun.

Responses

  1. Call me when you are finished. You are/will be just great!

    Love,

    Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

