Posted by: forgingahead | April 27, 2010

Wonderful Weekend Part II

So Saturday was pretty darn perfect. I think I’ve established that fact. Ready for more happiness? I need to write these posts so I can reflect back when I’m having a gray day.

Sunday started off with a visit to Now Voyager. I was on the road pretty early to avoid the inevitable “Dream Machine” traffic jam. Not my thing so I won’t go into it but you can check out the link if you’re so inclined.

It was a lovely morning and NV is doing so well right now. He’s full of energy and enthusiasm and we’re having a lot of fun both getting back into riding shape.

When I got back home Bert and I headed out to Crissy Field for a nice long walk along the shoreline to the base of the Golden Gate Bridge. It was a gloriously sunny day and we were not alone. I was glad we were walking because running between the bikes and strollers and dogs and throngs of happy people would have been like doing a slalom course.

Then came the shopping expedition. We were parked in the Sports Basement lot so it was meant to be.

The need to shop began because I had these lovely Sidi road shoes that I had been dithering about. My pedals are SPD which if I understand things means they’re pretty easy to clip and out of. And I like them. A lot.

My fancy new shoes would have required commitment to a fancy (and potentially harder to use) pedal. So I gave up my dream of being a pro cyclist and traded by road shoes in for MTB shoes (that’s mountain bike). Note: not my foot.

And of course Sports Basement is like my Tiffany’s so I had to also purchase new running shoes, new running socks, a new swimsuit and assorted fuel.

And then later that night I went for a run with my new shoes and socks and had a ball.

And that, my friends, is what made this a particularly wonderful weekend. And next weekend I get to ride my newly tuned up bike with my new shoes. Am I spoiled or what?

Responses

  1. Sounds like a great weekend. I wish we had awesome stores like that here. Online just isn’t the same.

  2. Every workout in the Presidio includes a “meant to be” shopping trip at Sports Basement. Hurrah for a very successful one. Glad you enjoyed a terrific weekend.

  3. I didn’t think that was your foot 🙂

  4. Great shoe shopping takes on a whole new meaning here! I am sure, by now, you know that two of the three picture blocks are empty, or is it just my computer????

  5. I just got back from SF a couple weeks ago, and it was gorgeous weather! I thought of you enjoying your runs and rides.


Leave a Reply

Categories

