Posted by: forgingahead | April 26, 2010

Wonderful Weekend

This weekend ranked right up there with one of the all time best. I think part of the reason it was so sweet was that it wasn’t planned. No special occasion. No high expectations.

Key ingredients to a wonderful weekend include time with Bert, time on the horse, time on the bike, time running and good weather. Add in a shopping trip to Sports Basement and I feel like my birthday came early.

Saturday morning we were on the road to Pt. Reyes as the sun was rising. Beautiful drive with tasty pastry as the goal. Bovine Bakery has a special bun they make on Saturdays – like a cinnamon roll on steroids stuffed with apples and raising and oozing goodness.

We were so psyched when we walked into the bakery as they opened at 7am that we lost our heads and got one each. And then each ate the whole thing.

About 15 minutes later as we started our bike ride I realized my mistake. For the first time ever I had an honest to goodness tummy ache. Oh well, at least the divine taste of the bun from heaven was wonderful while it lasted.

We did the Pt. Reyes / Marshall Wall ride and it was glorious. Perfect spring weather and relatively little road traffic – one of the big bennies of getting an early start.

Three hours later we pulled back into town and dropped my bike off with Mike at Black Mountain Cycles for a tune up. I’m embarrassed to admit that I think the blog post he did on Saturday about maintaining your bike chain was inspired by my bike.

If you’re in the Bay Area I highly recommend the trip to Pt. Reyes to have Mike work on your bike. He has that rare blend of insane bike experience and talent and caring that’s priceless. He did stellar work on Bert’s bike back in December.

Now my bike looks brand new and I cannot wait to get it back out on the road. It’s ready to rock ‘n roll at my upcoming triathlons. I bet I’m faster.

There’s more to share but I want to relive this great weekend slowly…so stay tuned for more tomorrow!

Responses

  1. Glad you and Bert had a good day in Pt. Reyes. And thank you very much for the kind words.
    Mike

  2. the best thing there is the vegan, wholewheat morning bun. its deliciously awesome. but they stopped making it!!

  3. Girl, you are human afterall! That would have been me, stuffing my face like it was my last meal:)

  4. Looks like a beautiful bike ride – and I bet the treats were good even if they made the stomach ache 🙂

  5. Sounds like a wonderful weekend spent! And it even sounds like the tummy ache was worth it. 😉 Sometimes …you just gotta make that kind of sacrifice!


Leave a Reply

Categories

