Posted by: forgingahead | April 23, 2010

A Cold Masquerading as Allergies

First, a bit of housekeeping. I am not a fan of the current trend of social graphing my life. And Facebook is leading the charge. You may not mind.

But if you do mind, take a few moments and do the following to opt out of Facebook’s new Instant Personalization “feature” which allows 3rd party website to collect your personal data.

This particular feature I’m calling an invasion of my privacy:

Go to Your Account (upper right hand corner)

–> Select Privacy Settings
–> Then select Applications and Websites
–> At the bottom of this list is Instant Personalization –> Click Edit Setting
–> Uncheck the box: Allow select partners…etc.
–> When they try to talk you out of it, click CONFIRM

There’s another level of sharing going on here you can block. Comment or email me if you want the details.



Thank you for your time. We now return to our regularly scheduled programming.

I did finally brave the waters again yesterday.

Granted, these were the warm waters of the heated YMCA pool. The pool located inside the warm building. So really, not much bravery required.

Although after the polar bear swim of Folsom Lake this weekend I’d sort of lost my appetite for getting wet in any way.

After a couple of laps I hit my stride again and was happy. I have that 3/4 mile swim leg of the Morgan Hill Triathlon coming up in a few weeks and needed to know I could swim the distance comfortably.

The good news is I can. I’m slow, but I get there. Yay!

After the swim I grabbed lunch and headed back to work. And started sneezing.

Now I do have allergies and sometimes chlorine sets them off. So I took a Claritan.

And kept sneezing.

I remained in denial until about 9pm last night when I had to face up to my chapped nose and the fact that I’d blown through an entire box of tissue. Then I brought out the big guns – Advil Cold & Sinus. And promptly stopped sneezing. Ah, better living through chemistry.

It seems I have a cold. Drat.

This baby panda has a cold too…if you need a chuckle give it a watch. Makes me giggle every time…

Responses

  1. Oh, no! Hope you’re feeling better soon. I’ve been out of commission for a few days with allergies turned cold. It makes me hate spring.

  2. Love that panda. Hope you feel better.

  3. Bummer on the cold. Email me the other stuff about FB – I don’t want them knowing everything about me!! THanks for the info!! Happy weekend! 🙂

  4. Cute video, I love pandas. I hope you’re feeling better and thanks for the FB info. I’m not a fan anyway, I’ve had too many weird things happen with FB so I’ve kind of given it up…unless I need to scope out my college boy, of course! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

