Posted by: forgingahead | April 20, 2010

Baby Ice Breaker Report

The Baby Ice Breaker Triathlon was the perfect first race for my friend Vikki and her daughter Carina.

Nice manageable distances:
200 yard swim
6.5 mile bike
2 mile run

Close to home for them so we could sort of sleep in and then just pop on over to the start in about 10 minutes.

TBF Racing puts on a lovely event. Loads of friendly volunteers pointing us in the right direction. And they thoughtfully separated our transition area (95 competitors) from the hustle and bustle of the longer race that started an hour later (400+ competitors). Thus limiting the likelihood of a novice accidentally getting in the path of a pro on the move.

The bike route was one of the prettiest I’ve ever ridden. Meandering with little hills to keep things interesting. And closed to cars. That was the best.

The run route was nice too – some of it was along a dirt path tucked in the trees which was nice as the day warmed up.

Our only false step was to skip the wetsuits. We were three of maybe five people swimming sans wetsuit. And for good reason. I don’t think the lake was 60 degrees. It felt closer to 50 to me.

So the swim was hard on our bodies. One of my team was so rattled by the cold that she did egg beater the whole way. And since I was staying with them I got really chilled since I wasn’t even really swimming. Lesson learned. Get the wetsuit and have fun.

Loren set the course record a while back.

Let’s just say we may have set a different sort of course record.

But we finished and we had fun and I may have hooked a couple of newbies on this sport I love. And I’m so proud of both of them! Vikki even took third in her age group!! It was an honor to be their guide.

Bert has some GREAT photos that I’ll be sharing soon.

Responses

  1. see, it’s that swimming part that scares me off of triathalons. this doesn’t encourage me! 😛

  2. AWESOME! Way to share your love of the sport with some newbies! Brrrrr on the swim.

  3. Congratulations to you and your team! Hope you’re nice and warm now.

  4. Sounds like a lot of fun (except for the chilly water). Looking forward to the pictures. So cool that you mentored them successfully!

  5. Brrrrrrr cold cold cold swim! Nice job!

  6. I miss you! Where are you? When can we do coffee?

  7. Oh my goodness! I can;t handle water wetsuitless under 67 degrees! That must’ve been SOOOOOOO cold and hard to recover from! Yipes! WOW!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

