Posted by: forgingahead | March 10, 2010

Three a Day

I’ve decided that today is the official kick-off of my 2010 triathlon training season!

Why? Thanks for asking. I’ll tell you.

First of all, I was sitting around this weekend getting cranky that I couldn’t find the time to get in a swim. And with all the walking I’ve been doing with Bert every other morning my running time is taking a hit too. As far as cycling goes I’m pretty much doing one 20 mile ride on the weekend and maybe a spin session midweek.

None of this is going to get me through any of my races in decent shape. Something had to give.

A lightbulb went off in my head. Join the YMCA! It’s half a block from work and I bet I can get there at least 3 times a week at lunch. They have a nice pool. They have spin class. They have treadmills overlooking the bay. Pretty sweet.

So on Monday I signed up. But was too busy to swim. Tuesday, same deal.

This morning we did our 5 mile walking loop in the crisp cold air. Nice.

To say I was determined to swim at lunch is an understatement. And swim I did! It was SO. AWESOME!

The pool temp was a little warm and the air a little humid but the natural light from the windows was nice. And I had a lane mostly to myself and did a decent 1,250 meters. Love that euphoric feeling I get in the water.

When I got home this evening Bert was up for a second walk loop. So we did that too.

I’m finally feeling that pleasantly drained feeling I get when I’m seriously training for a race. And I love it. Is that weird? I think not.

Responses

  1. You’ve got what looks like a pretty damn ambitious schedule planned out for yourself… But I guess not any more so than mine, planning to challenge Baraq w/his 1st 100 at the end of April & then TAKE HIM TO TEVIS at the end of July if he succeeds – what a reward, eh?
    I also can’t believe the half I signed up for on a whim w/one of my gym buddies will BE HERE SUNDAY, & what’s the longest training run I myself have done? 4 miles! Needless to say I’ll be walking most of it, & have already put hubby on alert that I may be calling for rescue…

  2. I think it’s good! 🙂

  3. I wish I had more time to swim. My next house…I want a pool just for that reason.

  4. I think that exhausted feeling is great, I know what you mean. Sometimes I just like the way I fall alseep so much faster when I’m pooped out. Happy Weekend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

