Posted by: forgingahead | January 20, 2010

One Downside of Rain

Imagine if I lived in a part of the world that had real weather. Not these random rainstorms that last for half a day and move on. I would whine. A lot. If the last three days are any example.

My drive to the barn takes me on a breathtakingly dramatic road called Devil’s Slide. Notice the word slide in the name. It’s accurate.

In fact, they’re building a tunnel through the mountain because the people who live on either side are tired of it sliding and shutting down the road.

It’s not a smart road to drive on in pouring rain and high winds – especially in the pre-dawn hours. When I go to visit Now Voyager.

So I haven’t seen my horse since Sunday and I’m getting really cranky. And anxious. Even though Anke is keeping on eye on him I want to see for myself that he’s doing ok.

Of course, if I lived elsewhere (with real weather) I could probably afford to keep my horse on my own property which means I could even sleep in the barn if I wanted. Hmmmm.

This little beauty on 70 acres in Virginia for example…

Responses

  1. Great blog!

    Julie
    http://www.ridingaside.blogspot.com

  2. Ooooh….nice property….can we come live with you when you acquire this rather lovely pice of real estate heaven???

  3. That was one scary road. I hope you get to see NV soon, that must be hard!

  4. Wow. That’s amazing. I wouldn’t have the gumption to drive that! Be careful!

  5. Yikes, California really is falling into the ocean.

  6. Move here!
    I did see the terrible footage of the mud slides. Scary. You be careful on that road.

  7. wow! Hope they get that road fixed soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

