Posted by: forgingahead | January 17, 2010

Horses, Bikes and Food

My weekend was comprised of my three favorite things…cycling with Bert, hanging out with Now Voyager and consuming yummy food!

Our bike ride was Saturday morning before the arrival of the much dreaded four back-to-back rainstorms. We took off from our house which is always an adventure as we immediately start to climb in order to get over Twin Peaks.

Our route took us through Golden Gate Park and the Presidio – lovely areas of green trees and light traffic. Then we crossed the Golden Gate Bridge on the Western side which offers dramatic views of the Marin Headlands.

I let out a huge sigh of happiness at this point.

Then we dropped down under the bridge and rode through Fort Point and on into Sausalito. We cut the ride short by stopping at was for donkeys years Cafe Trieste. Imagine my surprise when the sign read Taste of Rome. The good news is the coffee is still top notch and they still make these amazing muffins. Lemon poppyseed heaven.

I rode back home pretty quickly with that dose of sugar and caffeine.

Now Voyager and I did a couple of walks in our rain gear. He’s so thrilled to see me these days it’s funny. Starts tossing his head as if to say “get me outta this stall and let’s have some fun!”

Little Star Pizza is on the menu for tonight!

Responses

  1. Yum! Those poppyseed muffins sound wonderful and pizza? For some reason I’m craving that now, enjoy!

  2. Would have loved to tag along with you…sounds like a day I could love…

  3. What a great weekend. So glad the rain held off yesterday – I think we’ve got lots of inside time in our future.


Leave a Reply

Categories

