Posted by: forgingahead | January 15, 2010

Blah Blah Vision Blah MRI Blah

I’m officially fed up with thinking about, talking about and writing about my eyes. I’ll do this one last update so my blog doesn’t read like a bad TV cliffhanger and then I’m d.o.n.e.

I met with a very nice neurologist yesterday. He spent an hour with us (Bert came too) and did what seemed to be a pretty darn exhaustive exam.

Here’s a snapshot of the exam from the doctor’s point of view:

Can you see me wiggling my fingers in your peripheral vision? Yes.

Can you keep your head straight and look up at my finger for 4 minutes while I try to fatigue your eye muscles? Yes (didn’t make my eyes tired)

Let me bounce this tool off your knees and ankles to check your reflexes.

And so it went. The upshot? No symptoms.

Is he still worried? Yes.

Next steps? Another bloodtest. And the MRI on the 25th. Both head and chest. Two hours in the machine. I’ve decided it’s no big deal.

Really, I’m still terrified but telling myself that over and over seems like I’m making it even more true so now I’m doing the opposite.

I LOVE doing MRIs. Big fan of small spaces and loud clangy noises. I’m embracing it baby.

That and I’ll be heavily medicated 🙂

Responses

  1. Ohhhhh I would not want to be in that machine for a long time either. Can you sleep while they do it? That sounds better. I’m so sorry you have to do all this. Try not to stress – it won’t change any of it and will only make you well, stressed. I know easier said than done. Here is to a speedy recovery and hopefully some good news!

  2. Ear plugs are fun. And being medicated into unconsciousness will be great! You’ll have a great time.

  3. I’ll be thinking of you. The MRI is noisy but with earplugs and some mild sedation, and some meditation, it’s not too bad. Hoping you get good news when all is said and done.

  4. Can they medicate you when you have an MRI? I’ve had two and they didn’t offer me meds! No fair! I’m sure you just want it to be over, I’m with you. Big bear hugs to you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

