Posted by: forgingahead | January 11, 2010

A super fun weekend

It was one of those weekends that was so full of fun that I’m having a hard time remembering it all!

Bert and I started Saturday with a long walk around the city in part to work up an appetite for dining on Tartine’s bread pudding and a chocolate croissant for breakfast. Our plan worked beautifully and the food was so good!

Both of us had been craving the perfect chocolate croissant after seeing the movie It’s Complicated. There’s a great scene where croissants are made from scratch and consumed. Heaven!

Because I had not been spoiled enough for one day I met my horsey friends at Lovejoy’s Tearoom for an afternoon of high tea with the ladies.

We had a white elephant gift exchange that led to much merriment and laughter. I’ll have to take a photo of the gift I wound up with. A true white elephant.

Sunday we ventured to a favorite coffee house in Potrero Hill called Farleys. One of the lesser known secrets of Farley’s is Hazel’s Kitchen right next door. For $6 you can get one of the best bagels in SF loaded with lox and all the fixins. Then bring it over to Farley’s and sip latte while reading one of the 200+ magazine they stock.

Yessiree, that is a mighty fine way to spend a Sunday morning!

Then it was off to the barn for my pony ride. Since Now Voyager is recuperating we’re only walking for now so I feel a little like a kid on a pony ride going slowly round and round the arena.

He was such a good boy even when Anke flew by on Fandango at the canter. NV would sort of bounce for a moment and then relax back into the walk. It was a real treat watching Anke work Fandango. He’s learning his flying changes!

The best part of the weekend was this morning when I woke up with all of the double vision GONE! I still feel a tiny bit like my eyes are straining to hold things together but overall I’m just about back to normal.

Well, I should say my eyes are just about back to normal. Me, that’s another matter.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a great weekend. Glad your eye is back to normal.

  2. Sounds like a great weekend. I have been wanting to go see “It’s Complicated” but I haven’t been able to drag anyone to it. Maybe this weekend. I love Meryl Streep…my fav. Thanks for the tip on the chocolate croissants…I will have some ready for after the show.

  3. Hooray, hooray for speedy (well, kinda) healing! I also want to see It’s Complicated, and am having problems finding anyone to go with me. What did you think? Glad you had such a fabulous weekend!

  4. Any word on what the tests showed?

  5. I LOVE high tea! My mom and I have tried to go to all the different places around here. It’s always different wherever you go. I love the tiny little desserts and the scones with CREAM!


Leave a Reply

Categories

