Posted by: forgingahead | January 8, 2010

Life Looks Better on a Horse

I rode Now Voyager today! First time since October 22, 2009 – the day he mysteriously pulled up lame. (The above photo is a few years old but I like it.)

All we did was walk around the arena for half an hour but it was sheer heaven. He kept letting out these deep sighs which is what he does when he’s happy.

Though the wind was seriously howling there were no other people, or trucks, or tractors making scary noises. Just NV and me meandering along. I even closed my eyes for a big chunks of time to both rest my eyes and to really feel the details of being back in the saddle.

I’m laughing at myself because my ankles were sore by the end of our ride. So I think it’s a good thing that we’re starting the recovery process at the walk because I’m clearly out of riding shape. Ah fitness, it takes so long to earn and leaves so quickly.

On the subject of fitness I did a run last night that felt amazing. My recipe? Daily cross-training for 7 days. Contract double vision and rest for 6 days. Then run. Trust me, you’ll feel like Rocky. Except for the needing to keep one eye closed the road ahead doesn’t look too weird.

Speaking of vision issues, I’m awaiting blood test results and have scheduled my MRI. Still searching for the cause of this vision challenge but am super happy that it has receded enough for me to enjoy most activities. Being on the computer (reading) is the one thing that is still tough but the eye patch helps!

Responses

  1. Glad he’s doing better. And you are too.

  2. So glad you are feeling better and sounds like Now Voyager is too! Happy New Year!

  3. I can just imagine how happy you two felt walking around the ring, that made my day!

    I hope your eyes get stronger every day…you should take a picture of the patch, pirates are “in!”
    Happy weekend and hugs to you,
    meg

  4. Hooray, you’re both getting better!

  5. Yeah! Back in the saddle. Great to hear he is sound again.

  6. So happy you were able to ride and the horse was able to accommodate you! When is the MRI
    scheduled? Do take a picture of you with the patch, it is very pirate and as Meghan says, “pirates are in”.

    Love,

    Mom

  7. Alright, NV is back in fighting shape. Now let’s get you that way!
    Here’s hoping that all the tests will come back with good news.

  8. So glad to hear you can ride NV again AND that your vision is improving. Did they ever figure out what it was from? Living with intention is just awesome, I love this 🙂

  9. Sorry to hear about the vision. I’m all about the cross training too!

  10. I’m so happy you are coping with the vision thing. That must be so annoying. Please be sure to keep us updated on your tests.


Leave a Reply

Categories

