Posted by: forgingahead | December 12, 2009

The Hard Nut

The snowflake scene: from The Hard Nut, Mark Morris’s modern take on the perennial Christmas favorite – The Nutcracker.

Mom treated Bert and I to The Hard Nut ballet today for Christmas.

It was FABULOUS!

I’m a huge fan of The Nutcracker. Mom took us to see the SF Ballet performance every year (or at least many time) as kids. It was magical.

But it kind of spoiled me for a certain type of production and when the SF Ballet *updated* their look I was sad.

Mom said let’s see The Nutcracker for Christmas and I remembered Feyna had seen The Hard Nut a few years ago and loved it. So we opted to venture out and try something new.

First off, it’s in Berkeley.

Secondly, it’s a Mark Morris Dance Group production. Irreverent is Mark’s middle name. I think. I don’t know the man, but after seeing his production I feel comfortable making that assertion.

This ballet was full of life. Smiling dancers – men in tutus – little comedic moments that got the audience giggling.

The dancing was tremendous. We sat in the second row and had a very clear view of extremely sculpted leg muscles. These people are serious athletes.

It was a kick to see an interpretation of a classic done with humor and coupled with Tchaikovsky’s beautiful score. I’m such a sucker for string instruments.

If you live in the Bay Area and have time next weekend Go. See. It.

Thanks Mom!

Responses

  1. How fun! I’ve never heard of this show but would love to see it; maybe someday. Love the new look on your blog too. Festive!

  2. How fun. One of the few things I don’t like about Hawaii is the lack of cultural things like this. Love the snowflakes BTW

  3. Mark Morris is a genius! I’ve been looking for something slightly less…normal…to do for the holiday. I might have just found it, so thank you!

  4. ohhhh looks like fun!! Tchaikovsky is good no matter what…but i’m biased being a musician. That is fun that they took the original music and did a new dance to it.

    love the new blog look! very festive.

  5. I love your blog, the red is gorgeous and I really like the snowflakes! The ballet looked like fun, especially if you got to go with your mom! I think the men in tutus would have been fun too! Did you wear your new boots?

    • Thanks all for the thumbs on the holiday theme! I was inspired by several of you to figure out how to add snow.

      Meg – did not wear my boots to the ballet! It was raining and I was being too careful.

      Donna – let me know if you do go and what you think!


Leave a Reply

Categories

