Posted by: forgingahead | November 30, 2009

Self-Imposed Recovery

I haven’t done an organized race since September (where does time go?) but I still try to stick to a loose training schedule. I trick myself by keeping different races in the back of my mind. I might do this one so I should be ready.

Then I got sick. I haven’t been sick in so long that I forgot how to do it. Lay (lie?) around. Drink hot tea with lemon and honey. Sleep. And then sleep some more.

Back in my potato-couch days I was good at this routine. But now? Not so much.

I am a bad patient. I get bored and cranky and start to obsess that I can feel the fitness particles leaving my body. Fleeing like rats on a sinking ship.

So in the middle of my recovery week I convinced myself I was healed and went for a run.

No way was I going to eat a Thanksgiving feast without having a run neatly tucked under my belt first.

I thought I’d gotten away with it too. Until a scratchy sensation in my throat during dinner led to the loss of my voice during dessert.

This time my husband and my mother both shook their fingers at me and forbade further training.

My horse was clearly in on the conspiracy because he stubbornly remained lame so I couldn’t ride.

Mom came to stay this weekend and she stocked me up on elderberry syrup which I’ve been taking religiously the last couple of days.

Either elderberry syrup is a miracle cure or the cold is just about done running its one week course. Because today I feel better and have my voice back.

The vet comes to the barn in the morning to see if he can figure out why Now Voyager is still lame.

Maybe I should try giving NV some elderberry too.

Hope you all had a lovely Thanksgiving!

Responses

  1. Feel better – both you and NV!!

  2. Hope you’re all healed soon. This cold is no fun!

  3. Sucks that NV and you are both down for the count. Hope the two of you feel better soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

