Posted by: forgingahead | November 23, 2009

Event Hangover

First there is the adrenaline rush of the moment. Which in an event like one last week stretches on for four days.

Then comes exhaustion. When you’ve addressed absolutely every last detail and loose end you collapse. And sleep.

Which I did. A lot. Late into the morning. In the middle of the afternoon. Early in the evening I just kept nodding off to dreamland.

And my dreams, which had been oddly packed with event-related details, finally started to drift back to images of riding Now Voyager across endless green meadows.

Even with all this sleeping I managed to visit Now Voyager a couple of times and tend to his ouchy hoof. Soaking, wrapping and carrot after carrot. He’s still lame but happy with the carrot supply.

I even got back on the bike after a 5 week hiatus. Why is it that I don’t appreciate how strong I am until I’ve lost fitness and am struggling up a hill that I used to scoff at with cries of “bring it on!” while dancing in my pedals? Yes, that was me with the trembling quads.

I would not have gotten into the pool last night if I had any inkling that my body was teetering on the edge of a cold. But alas, hindsight and all that.

Hours after returning home my throat was on fire and my sinuses were clogging up. My only hope is that this devilish cold departs as quickly as it arrived.

In the meantime, I’m the one wrapped in a blanket and sipping tea.

Here’s hoping all of you are happy this Thanksgiving week!

Responses

  1. Hope you feel better. Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. Oh no fun being sick – I hope you feel better soon! Glad the crazy project is over. Hope NV feels better soon as well.

  3. How yummy is that picture of Johnny Depp? LOVE HIM…Thanks for the eye candy on a monday afternoon…

  4. Hope you start feeling better soon, quick enough to enjoy the feast on Thursday! Happy Thanksgiving to you too.

  5. Oh, no! Get thee to a pharmacy and purchase Emergen-C availablein many flavors. Add to a glass of water. 24 Nutrients with 1,000 mg. of Vitamin C. Boosts your immune system. I have been taking two packets daily for this week. I also recommend Sambucus. I’m sure they have it at Whole Foods. It is elderberry, echinacea and zinc. 2 tsp. every four hours for “intensive use” which means when you are sick. These treatments just got me through a cold/virus thing-plus lots of sleep. Good luck and take care of yourself. Love, Mom

  6. Oh , poor thing! I sometimes get sick after a high-stress, busy event! I hope you get better. Along with your mom’s recommendations, I just heard about this “miracle” cold/flu/cough supplement called “Breathe.” Google it if you can, it’s expensive but all the moms at school are using it on the kids and themselves and kids are healing up quickly with minor phlegm issues. Interesting! Mean while, get better and keep resting all curled up with your tea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

