Posted by: forgingahead | November 6, 2009

The Graveyard Book

I’m hooked on Nobody.

Nobody Owens, to be exact.

The protagonist of Neil Gaiman’s novel The Graveyard Book.

200px-TheGraveyardBook_Hardcover

Ignore the fact that this is categorized as a children’s fantasy. It’s a richly woven and imaginative story filled with characters I loved – and a few that I hated with all the zeal of hissing at Darth Vader in a movie theater. And I was sad, so very sad, to reach the end.

Can we not figure out a way for a good book to just go on and on and on until we’re ready to say goodbye?

One of the main characters, Silas, could be in our running club Meg!

But that’s all I’m going to say. Because I think this book is most exquisitely enjoyable if you have no idea what you’re in for.

Wait, I’m going to say one more thing. It’s my blog and my prerogative.

One of my all time favorite films is Coraline, a wonderful animated film released this year. We got it through Netflix and knew nothing about it. The story knocked our socks off. A little dark and not really for little kids but awesome.

200px-Coraline_poster

Turns out it was written by Neil Gaiman too. So really I’m not so much hooked on Nobody as I am hooked on Neil.

I’m off to the library to check out Coraline.

Responses

  1. Love to get tips on good reads. This looks like a great choice; total escape.

  2. That was a great book! We read it in literature circle in my daughter’s class. Very good!

  3. I loved The Graveyard Book…I have yet to see Coraline. I wanted to see it in 3D, bummed I didn’t make it to the theatre. Some friends of mine work over at Laika studios…they do so many cool things there. I think if you go to the Borders website…there are some interviews with Neil…I think that is where I saw them.

  4. I really liked Coraline the movie too…maybe i should check out this other book by him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

