Posted by: forgingahead | October 22, 2009

Dark Short Days

It’s dark in the morning.

It’s dark in the evening.

Yes, I’m whining. Just a bit.

Daylight savings time doesn’t end for another week. And a couple of days.

November 1st is when I’ll get the benefit of not having to groom Now Voyager in the dark. Or run by the light of the streetlamps. A thing I don’t mind doing at night but somehow seems just plain wrong in the morning.

This man, William Willet, worked tirelessly to enact Daylight Savings Time back in the early 1900’s

william willet

Here’s his pamphlet which went through 19 editions. Apparently it was quite popular.

daylight pamphlet

I discovered a fact that made me giggle while doing all this fascinating research.

William Willett is the great-great-grandfather of this famous – and handsome – Brit…

chris martin

I just love Coldplay. My best stretch of running music on my shuffle is a mix of Coldplay, Snow Patrol and Frou Frou.

But I digress.

Daylight Savings finally was enacted in 1918 in the U.S. as commemorated by this funny little poster.

victory

I guess with more daylight in the evening all the farmers and gardeners could stop being such slackers and get back to work. Ha!

Sadly, William Willetts died in 1915, the year before the bill was finally passed in Britain.

So I leave you with this slightly retouched public service announcement from 2001 as a friendly reminder.

you cant stop time

Thank you Wikipedia for being such a fabulous source of useful info!

Responses

  1. I love the info. and these pictures are great, thanks for sharing.
    I like Coldplay too…so many great songs.
    I’m not sure I’m ready for the time change either and the cold, dark mornings are so hard right now!

  2. Wow! Thanks for all the great information. Sadly, it takes so long to affect changes sometimes you don’t live to see it. The wonderfulness of living in a democracy. I will miss the longer evening now that we finally have our lovely Indian Summer.

    Love,

    Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

