Posted by: forgingahead | September 16, 2009

Tri for Real

I love the name of this race! It’s part of the reason I wanted to do it. That, plus it meets my criteria.

“And exactly what is your criteria, Kathleen?” I’m glad you asked!

*Local!
A spot I can jump in my car and drive to the morning of and still do some stuff later in the day (assuming I can still stand).

*Warm water!
You can tell I’m not a real triathlete by this single statement. I prefer to swim sans-wetsuit. Oh, I get it. Wetsuits make us faster, etc. But I’m so not there yet. May never get there. In the meantime I love the freedom of exiting the water, putting on my shoes and jumping on the bike.

*A known quantity.
I did this course last year in the See Jane Tri race. The swim is in a nice little lake. The bike is on wide and relatively flat streets. The run is on a dirt trail that kind of meanders around. Plus I know how to get there, where to park and just how goopy the bottom of the lake is when you go in. Important things to know.

*Pushing myself.
I’ve completed two triathlons…both of them a year ago.

The Santa Barbara race was a 1 mile swim, 34 mile bike and 10 mile run. A super long distance that took me forever (5:50) to finish.

The See Jane Tri race was a few weeks later and I did it to practice some of the stuff I learned in my first race. Oh, and to leverage the awesome condition I was in and rock a sprint distance: 400 yard swim, 11 mile bike and 3 mile run.

The distances of the Tri for Real race this Sunday are:
700 yard swim
18 mile bike
4 mile run

Shorter than my first race and longer than my second. Seemed like a happy medium.

This year was pretty consumed by training for the LiveStrong Century though I did keep up some running and very little swimming in between rides.

Since I’m coasting on my bike conditioning, can run 5 miles without falling over and have been able to swim a mile in the pool a few times without drowning I’m relatively confident I can finish this race without injury.

That is always my primary goal. Finish healthy. Perhaps eventually I’ll get to the “go faster and compete” part of the whole race plan but I’m still not quite there.

Have I said how excited I am? Giddy is the word that comes to mind.

The Tri for Real race is at Shadow Cliffs Regional Park in Pleasanton. Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. cool. i did tri for fun there. its fun 🙂

  2. How fun! Close is great and so is warm water! So happy to hear you’re giddy. Have fun tapering…it’s a blast!


Leave a Reply

Categories

