Posted by: forgingahead | September 3, 2009

This was my reward for an early start to the day

harvest moonset

Thanks to the NASA Astronomy Picture of the Day website for the loan of the above pic.

Minus the ship in the foreground, this was my view very early this morning.

I was driving down Highway One on my way to the barn when I first glimpsed a BIG. ORANGE. ORB. hanging low in the sky.

It was such a brief glimpse that I nearly chalked it up to early morning pre-coffee hallucinations.

As I crested the big hill that leads down into Pacifica I finally had a sweeping view of the ocean. And this is what I saw.

Melting into the horizon.

Simply stunning.

Responses

  1. That is stunning. I do love a beautiful celestial body.

  2. Beautiful!!!!

  3. Glorious…”melting into the horizon,” very poetic!
    Thanks for sharing it!

  4. Makes getting up early worth it, doesn’t it?

  5. That is so beautiful!

  6. sweet!


Leave a Reply

Categories

