Posted by: forgingahead | August 20, 2009

Wanted: More Words

Bert pointed out that I’m starting to repeat myself when commenting on other blogs. I seem to say “you rock” a lot.

Here’s the thing…I mean it. From my soul. I read these amazing posts about people challenging themselves and forging ahead and my gut response is “you rock!”

Being a writer, however, I need to stretch myself and find more creative ways to voice my enthusiasm and support.

So today I visited thesaurus.com to explore my options.

I searched on “rock” (the verb) and of course my results were not at all suitable.

agitate, billow, careen, concuss, convulse, falter, heave, jiggle, jog, jolt, jounce, lurch, move, oscillate, pitch, push and pull, quake, quaver, quiver, reel, roll, roll about, shake, shock, stagger, sway, swing, toss, totter, tremble, undulate, vibrate, wobble

See, not one of those work. If I start to write you concuss in my comments I’m willing to be I’ll get banned from the blog. Same for you quiver or you undulate.

You rock conveys how much in awe I am of the person. The overall awesomeness factor if you will.

Then I searched the synonyms for Awesome:

alarming, astonishing, awe-inspiring, awful, beautiful, breathtaking, daunting, dreadful, exalted, fearful, fearsome, formidable, frantic, frightening, grand, hairy, horrible, horrifying, imposing, impressive, intimidating, magnificent, majestic, mean, mind-blowing, moving, nervous, overwhelming, real gone, shocking, something else, striking, stunning, stupefying, terrible, terrifying, wonderful, wondrous, zero cool

Hmmmm. Well, let’s throw out the scary words…frantic, hairy, horrible. I sort of forgot that awesome could be construed as negative.

How about real gone and zero cool. I just don’t get either of those.

Perhaps I’ll try to work breathtaking into my next comment and hope the person takes it the right way…not that I’ve evolved into some mad stalker in love with them.

Stunning and wonderful are words I use. I’m good with those.

Casting about for something, anything, I could add to my word toolbox I search for synonyms of Terrific:

ace, amazing, breathtaking, divine, excellent, fabulous, fantastic, fine, glorious, great, groovy, hot, keen, magnificent, marvelous, outstanding, sensational, smashing, stupendous, super, superb, swell, very good

Hey, these are fun. I can use these words. Fabulous is in my toolbox – it’s such a fabulous word. I have a British accent when I say it out loud and I move my arm like I’m holding a martini glass. Not sure why, it’s just the way I see the word.

So look out friends. There are going to be some keen comments coming your way!

Responses

  1. HAH

  2. You can go for “you stagger” on mine. I’m such a clutz it would be true on most days!

  3. I also like the British-ism “brilliant” – I was truly & deeply flattered when my in-laws used it in reference to ME, ha ha!
    Your quavering, quivering, faltering cyber-friend…

  4. Kathleen You ROCK!!
    I love to ride horses as well. My Grandpa is an old Cowboy, really he was a sheep herder, he has retired from that and now makes traditional old school Cowboy saddles. One at a time all intricately hand tooled. It is a different kind of riding. Our horses are Quarter horse born and raised in the mountains, they will go up anything. Horses and Bikes both Awesome!

  5. As long as there is a comment…I’m good.
    How about fan-freakin-tastic? I use that one alot…

  6. I’m going with smashing and stunning myself!
    This was fun to read. Quite smashing and stunning!


Leave a Reply

Categories

