Posted by: forgingahead | August 2, 2009

The Perfect Combination

Friends, family, horses, bikes and a spa.

These five ingredients came together to create a perfect weekend.

Saturday morning I spent hours of quality time with Now Voyager.

lovemyhorse

Happy me. Happy horse.

The afternoon was spent cycling with our friends Erin and David in the Oakland Hills.

Erin and I have been friends for 15 years and in that time she’s done a couple of those little SF to LA bike rides, not to mention more than a few century rides and a bike trip through Ireland. She’s my cycling inspiration.

However this is the FIRST time I’ve ridden with her. Why? Because until recently there wasn’t a very realistic chance I’d be able to keep up with her.

Her husband David led us on merry ride UP one hill, then UP some more, then down aways and then UP again. And again. Thank goodness the scenery was stunning…took my mind off the burning sensation in my legs.

When we finished the ride we congregated at their house for a lovely dinner party with more of their friends. Ah, good food, great company. The perfect evening.

Today Bert and I drove up to Calistoga to meet my mom and Tony for a birthday spa day.

indiansprings

My mom went to Indian Springs when she was a kid and she took me and my brother there when we were kids. Lots of good memories.

A mother-daughter spa day has kind of become the thing we do together on special occasions and often Indian Springs is the place we go.

indianspringspool2

The day was perfect. We had our picnic lunch complete with Michael Recchiuti S’mores and chocolate covered graham crackers that mom picked up at the Ferry Building.

smores

Because there’s no such thing as too much sugar, we also had the world’s best almond macaroon cookies that Bert and I picked up from The Model Bakery on the drive through St. Helena en route to Calistoga.

cookies

That’s the macaroon in the middle of the stack.

Aren’t birthdays fun?

Responses

  1. Those smores look incredible! I’m busily plotting how I could make those.

  2. I love your positive attitude.

  3. Love that pic of you with your horse!

    AHHHH yes that is a perfect combination

  4. There’s a place in the Ferry Building that sells S’mores? I had no idea. And I was probably better off that way. They look terrific!

  5. Just passing through your blog for the first time but that horse/bike and spa day seemed like the perfect day to me! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Oh my, Bert’s pictures make me hungry! I thought I was satisfied with a bite, but no. I want more!!!
    Thanks for a lovely and memorable day. Happy Birthday my darling daughter. Love you!

    Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

