Posted by: forgingahead | June 29, 2009

Let the Livestrong Taper Begin

Actually, Coach Sage Rountree recommend we start the taper this past weekend – two weeks out from the San Jose LiveStrong Challenge century in San Jose.

But you know what? I *wanted* to go on a long ride! What? Is this really me talking?

Wait, it gets better.

Not only did I want to go on a longish ride. I wanted hills. Lots and lots of hills.

Truth be told it wasn’t so much the actual hills I was craving. What I craved was to be on those beautiful country roads winding in and out of the coastal foothills.

Roads that are mostly too narrow to encourage traffic.

Roads with dramatic scenery changes.

One moment you’re in the hot sun surrounded by golden hills dotted with cows. The next you’re in forest so thick that the sunglasses have to come off so you can see.

I’m starting to get the benefit of being a strong and fit cyclist. More route options!

The less a road is friendly to cars, the more fun (and hard) it is for a cyclist. Ah ha!

So instead of a 30 mile taper ride we did a 52 mile ride with about 4k of climbing. And had a total blast.

The bento box continues to be my salvation as I munch along on food constantly.

In other news, my buddy Charisa Wernick WON her age group in the Buffalo Springs 70.3 race this weekend in Lubbock, Texas. And she did it after being sick all week. Congrats Charisa!

Responses

  1. You are getting so close! And you love cycling now – awesome!!

  2. Enjoy the taper. It’s my favorite part of training.

  3. I am, as always, in awe of you!

  4. I AM SO HAPPY you had one of those days, those are the best, when we just love it and it makes sense. ALMOST time for you to race, so excited for you kathleen!

    ALSO, I wanted to thank you from the bottom of my heart for all your super encouraging comments, you always have a way of making me get up again and not pity myself, thank you for helping me stay strong in life and sport, even if it is just in blogland!!

    Bree

  5. Discovering that you love something more than once thought is such a fun thing! Wow…two weeks? You are going to do great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

