Posted by: forgingahead | June 23, 2009

Venetian Jewels

The necklace and ring that I’m wearing today are from Venice. Well, to be really factual they were purchased in Venice but made in Murano, an island in the Venetian lagoon. Credit to Wikipedia for that lovely phrasing.

I like wearing this jewelry for several reasons.

It’s pretty. The bright jewel tone colors wink in the light and make me feel a little bit like a princess.

It’s substantial. The glass has a heft that reminds you each moment that you are merely there to ferry the jewels about and show them off.

But mostly I enjoy wearing the pieces because they remind me of Venice. And being there with Bert. And the pure joy of spending 6 weeks exploring Italy. Where every day was an adventure of the senses.

That trip was 9 years ago. Nine. Years. Ago.

Time to go back.

Responses

  1. It’s been WAY too long since I was in Italy too!! 🙂

  2. LOVE Venice….Scott and I spent 6 weeks kicking around Europe back in 1994 and then again in 1999, both times hitting Venice. We are headed back there again next year (only for 3 weeks this time), and sure enough – Venice is on the list.

    I want to see these rings….I want to think of Venice too…

  3. Oh, how I would love to go there. I bet it was fantastic.

  4. Oh yes; time to go back to Venice. Wonderful memories.

  5. I love Murano glass pieces. And all of italy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

