Posted by: forgingahead | June 17, 2009

Coaching Session Part 2 on Athleta Chi

Sage Rountree is coaching me via phone and email to prepare for the upcoming (gulp – less than 4 weeks away) LiveStrong Century in San Jose.

We’re doing a series for the Athleta Chi site and Part 2 was published today!

I went to Sports Basement today and stocked on a wide variety of fuel to test on our ride this weekend. And I bought a bento box so I have more places to put all this darn food I have to eat.

bento1

Purchased some *arm coolers* too – they’re designed to wick away sweat and protect arms from the sun.

We’re going to ride in Sacramento this weekend and temps are predicted to be 91 degrees…good test run for the San Jose ride. The weather along the coast here has been quite cool this spring so cycling in serious heat will be a first for me.

If you get a chance, pop on over to the Athleta Chi site and let me know what you think of the series.

Have a great day!

Responses

  1. Very cool article! Some great advice for first timers. I have been experimenting with physical sunblock this summer. (i’m a red-head too)…granted I don’t really like it. I’ve been trying the blue lizard. But when I sweat i feel like it all gathers in the creases of my arms.

    Have fun trying out some new food. Careful about amount of food intake…generally people can handle 200-300 cals/hour, with the timing of the food spread out over the hour.

    love to hear what you think about the arm coolers. I’ve been thinking of getting some too.

  2. The bento box will definitely help store stuff 🙂 Have fun this weekend – hydrate well!

  3. Can’t wait to hear about this weekend and DRINK LOTS OF FLUID!


Leave a Reply

Categories

