Posted by: forgingahead | June 16, 2009

The San Francisco Bike Loop

Bert and I went exploring on our bikes early this morning. At first we just headed up the hill from our house. Really, just about any direction from our house is a hill so it was just a small matter of picking one.

Rather than go all the way to the top of Twin Peaks again we decided to skirt the edges and drop down the other side. That put us in Golden Gate Park.

Here’s a map of our ride – we went clockwise starting at the middle of the city.

sfbikeride

Even though I grew up here I forget how many wonderful nooks and crannies are in the park. One stretch of road is lined with giant ferns. I mean the size of small redwood trees. I suddenly felt like I was in a scene from Land of the Lost.

As we meandered through the park I could feel the tug of the ocean so we kept going west. And there she was in all her angry majesty. Ocean Beach is one of those riptide filled bodies of water that you want to treat with a healthy dose of respect. Viewing it from the safety of my bike suited me just fine.

We climbed the hill past the Cliff House and Sutro Baths and flew by the Legion of Honor. Then waved to Robin Williams’ house as we zoomed through Sea Cliff. My attention was torn between soaking up the dramatic views of the ocean below and the Golden Gate Bridge and keeping my legs spinning enough to climb the big hill into the Presidio.

The Presidio is another haven of greenery with even fewer cars than GG Park. I filled my lungs with deep breathes of ocean and tree-scented air and called myself a happy and lucky girl. Tired legs and all.

The best thing about leaving on a bike ride from home is that when you’re done, you’re home!

Thanks to everyone who shared their nutrition tips – I’ll be stocking up on fig newtons and peanut butter filled pretzels!

Leave a Reply

Categories

