Posted by: forgingahead | June 3, 2009

Horses and Bikes

Today was a good day.

We got a super early start even when faced with rain and it paid off. By the time Bert and I were on the bikes the sun started peeking through the clouds.

It was a 25 mile ride with some decent climbing. Bert took me on a new road that he’d discovered a few weeks ago. Super narrow, it doesn’t really *go* anywhere so there is very little traffic. Pretty too. Up and down. Eucalyptus groves at the top descending into a redwood forest at the bottom.

Love my arm warmers! Definitely needed them in forest part of the ride. Speaking of gear, I have a new pair of cycling knickers! The brand is Sugoi and my bottom was SO happy to have a more, shall we say, substance in the padding. Happiness!

I went for the knicker length thinking that (a) the less my lily white skin sees the sun the less burned I get and (b) I’ll cause fewer car and bike accidents due to people being blinded by my white legs. That’s me, always thinking about others.

After the ride I went on my other favorite ride…Now Voyager! Anke was there so we got some impromptu coaching on our canter work. She paid me a *huge* compliment, saying I was sitting nice and deep in the saddle. Yipee! My practice is starting to pay off. And Now Voyager is developing a beautifully balanced and forward canter that is just a joy to ride.

I have a pair of very tired legs today, but my heart is full and my head is happy.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a great day!

  2. Yay for new knickers! I LOVE my knickers.

  3. Sounds like a perfect day! Glad you got some good knickers too! I love those kind that come just to the knee. Not to hot and good for chilly days 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  4. I have to have a little padding on my tush when I ride. You’d think I’d naturally have enough, but somehow I don’t!

  5. Glad to hear you have a happy tush! What exactly is an arm warmer?

    Your training schedule seems to be working out well for you. You are an amazing woman/athlete to fit this all in with a very busy work schedule. Looking forward to the race!

    Love,

    Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

