Posted by: forgingahead | June 1, 2009

Conquering the LiveStrong Hill

There’s this little 100 mile ride coming up in July and at mile 68 of said ride is a hill. A wee bit of a hill. Maybe not for *real* cyclists but enough to cause me a touch of anxiety.

Coach Sage suggested I deal with that anxiety by riding the hill. At least once. Preferably twice. Even a third time if at all possible.

So Saturday Bert and I headed south to San Jose. An usually cold and overcast day. Not at ALL what the weather is bound to be on July 12th.

We drove. And drove. And drove some more. San Jose is a ways from San Francisco. 61 miles but the drive seemed to take forever.

We arrived and decided to drive up the hill – also known as Metcalfe Road. It was steep. Narrow. Winding.

Not to say that climbing that thing didn’t take a lot of work. It did. And we went up it twice. Then down the backside and back up THAT hill.

All told 20 miles of biking and 2500 feet of climbing. I took a long nap when we got home. And when I woke up I swear my legs were vibrating. Super strange sensation.

Bottom line – mission accomplished. I know this hill now. Sage said that knowing what I’m facing at mile 75 would help my mental state the day of the ride and I totally agree. It’s a big hill. But the first half is harder than the second half. And now I know the landmarks for the really tough sections. So it’s all good!

Responses

  1. Awesome!

    You can take on that hill; no question!

  2. I think you can now tell people you own the hill! 🙂

  3. I am so impressed by you every day. I have friends who are athletic and motivated IRL but I don’t see them much since I’m always lying around being a slug and they are out running past my house at 5 a.m.

  4. AWESOME! it does sound like you own that hill! Nice work.

  5. Knowing is half the battle. You’re gonna rock

  6. Put out the tip jar for your Livestrong page, honey!

  7. […] that monster at mile 68ish? That’s Metcalf Road, the ride we did a couple of weekends ago. She’s a beauty, no? 2 miles and 1,000 feet of pure climbing […]

  8. […] Road was made to torture cyclists. Bert and I had ridden up it two times in a row as a training exercise in early June so we knew exactly what to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

