Posted by: forgingahead | May 27, 2009

My head is full and my legs are tired

There’s just been too much of everything the last few weeks. Oh, I’m not complaining. Just stating a fact. And maybe, just maybe, asking for your patience as I’ve slacked off the posting. Not that you hang on my every word, but I do feel we’ve built this rapport and I’m not holding up my end of the bargain.

My head is full because the work I’ve been doing lately is data intensive and it’s oddly draining to stare at a computer screen for hours on end juggling data and holding pointless pieces of info in your head for the few moments it takes to get from point A to point B.

Quite frankly, by the end of the work I find myself running quickly in the opposite direction from any sort of computer. Which, of course, makes it challenging to blog.

Training is going really well! Bert and I did 59 miles on the bikes this weekend! A new distance record for us. Took forever (5:30) because we (I) kept stopping. But we did it!

Coach Sage says it’s all good and this weekend we get to step back to 2:30. We’re going to go check out that behemoth mountain that’s on the LiveStrong course. Ride it a few times and give it what for.

I’ve been in the pool and running too and the combined workouts are making my legs T.I.R.E.D. In Peets today I slyly put them up on a chair. Rude? Perhaps. But necessary. Maybe I need to get me some of those cool compression socks the real athletes wear.

Now Voyager is doing really well in the midst of all this mayhem. I spent hours with him this weekend and we’re both happier for it. Monday was funny because the farmer next door had put up a flag for Memorial Day. NV was so cute. Clearly rattled by this thing that kept flapping indiscriminately in the wind, but curious too. I was trying to do this nice even circle and when we’d get to the edge closest to the flag NV would start side stepping. Cracked me up!

Have a happy day everyone!

Responses

  1. Great job on the newest long distance!! You will get that time down in no time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

